Trade Finance Bankers Association holds 2021/2022 AGM – The Island


The Trade Finance Association of Bankers (TFAB) held its 24th annual general meeting in April, at the Rainbow Room, Grand Oriental Hotel, Colombo, under strict sanitary guidelines.

This association formed in 1997 is actively engaged in improving the banking skills of its members through a variety of activities, networking and harnessing the experience of industry veterans to share their knowledge. with new entrants in the field of trade finance.

TFAB members include almost all commercial banks operating in Sri Lanka with members elected each year at the AGM. An advisory committee made up of four senior and former bankers oversees and guides the activities of the association.

The following officers were elected for 2021/2022 at the Annual General Meeting.

President – Lawrian Somanader – Managing Director, Exports, Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC

Senior Vice President – Rochelle Fernando – Deputy Managing Director – Trade Services – Bank of Ceylon

Vice President – Shyam De Silva – Operations Manager – Centralized Transaction Processing, Hatton National Bank PLC

Corporate Secretary – KR Naguleswaran – Assistant Vice President, Correspondent Banking and Remittances, DFCC Bank PLC

Treasurer – Kasun Muthukuda – Manager – Trade and Supply Chain Finance, Nations Trust Bank PLC

Assistant Secretary – Indika Liyanage – Senior Director, Commercial Services, Pan Asia Banking Corporation PLC

Assistant Treasurer – Kanchana De Silva – Senior Manager – Trade Operations – Union Bank of Colombo PLC,

Board Members: Gaya Manamperi (formerly at Sampath Bank PLC), Manjula Gunawardana (NDB Bank PLC), Neil Handapangoda (Citi Bank NA), Susantha Weerasinghe (People’s Bank), Tharinda Amarasinghe (Sampath Bank PLC), Niranjan Dabare (Deutsche Bank) AG), KK Susantha (Bank of Ceylan), Saroja Pathirana (Sampath Bank PLC), Thilanke Weerasinghe (The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited), Dilan Wijegoonawardena (Seylan Bank PLC), Shehani Peter (Standard Chartered Bank), Malithi Maheeka ( Cargills Bank), Eranda Weerakoon (Bank of Doha)

Past President: ASMW Kumarasiri (Deputy Managing Director, Trade Finance, People’s Bank)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.